VTech Kids Main Content

Back to top
How do I reset the KidiBuzz 3 to factory settings?

Follow these steps to reset your KidiBuzz 3 to factory settings.

Warning: Any data saved in internal memory will be lost. Data saved on a microSD memory card (not included) will not be affected by resetting the device. You can back-up your photos, videos, and music to a computer with the included USB cable.


Option 1 - Reset your Device from Parent Settings

First, swipe to the second page of your child's Home screen, then touch the Parents icon to enter Parent Settings.



Enter Parent Settings

Touch the "Device Settings" icon.



Screen: Device Settings

Select "About" from the Device Settings menu.



Factory Reset page

Touch "Reset Your Device", then touch the "Reset" button on the next screen.



Factory Reset progress

A screen will show the progress. The reset may take more than 10 minutes to complete. The device will restart once the reset finishes. You will see a black screen for a few seconds. When the device turns back on, the reset process is complete.



Reset Your Device

Option 2 - Use a Key Combination to Reset Your Device

First, turn off the unit by holding down the power button for 3 seconds, and then touch the on-screen "Power off" icon.



Screen: Power Off

Once the system is off, press and hold the POWER button and VOLUME DOWN (minus) button at the same time. When the white VTech screen appears, release only the POWER button. Continue pressing the VOLUME DOWN button until you see the Factory Reset screen.

If the Factory Reset screen does not appear, repeat the steps above. You may need to repeat these steps multiple times.

TIP: Unplug the power supply first if it is difficult to turn the device on in charging mode.



Screen: Factory Reset Buttons

Once you see the Factory Reset screen, release the VOLUME DOWN button. If your power source is unplugged, plug it in to the device. Then, touch "Reset" to continue.

Do not turn off the device or disconnect the power source during the reset process.



Factory Reset confirmation screen

A screen will show the progress. The reset may take more than 10 minutes to complete.

The device will restart once the reset finishes. You will see a black screen for a few seconds. When the device turns back on, the reset process is complete.



Factory Reset progress screen